Well hello, Labor Day weekend. And hello, new Texas laws. While these could be made into a Fearless Fave Five Laws of Texas, there is only one that really catches my interest and attention. First off - if you are drinking alcohol, do not drive. And if you're going to drive, do not drink. Texas legislators have tightened down the law on driving while intoxicated, and it's going to cost you for years if you get caught.

KEAN 105 logo
Get our free mobile app

Yes, these are some new laws that look like old laws, but they've only been made stiffer. The law that really caught my attention is how if you are involved in an accident and found to be driving under the influence, and an adult dies because of the accident, you will be made financially responsible.

While the words "financially responsible" may not scare you, this will: if a person you kill while driving under the influence has children, you will be made to pay child support until that parent's last child graduates from college. I love that law; it makes sense. If you are incarcerated, you will still have to pay child support before, during and after your jail time. Welcome to Texas and the new DWI laws.

Here are a few more laws that are being implemented effective September 1st, 2023, from the Texas Department of Transportation. The new laws will be in effect this Labor Day weekend.

  1. Individuals convicted of intoxication manslaughter will now be required to provide child support in cases where they take the life of a parent with young children.
  2. If you are driving impaired with children under 15, you will be charged with child endangerment and fined $10,000.
  3. In addition to fines, there are also state fees of $3000, $4500, or $6000 assessed upon sentencing.
  4. First offense: Up to a $2000 fine, up to 180 days in jail upon conviction with three mandatory days, and loss of driver’s license for up to a year.
  5. Second offense: Up to a $4000 fine, one month to a year in jail upon conviction, and loss of driver’s license for up to two years.
  6. Third offense: A $10,000 fine, two to ten years in prison, and loss of driver’s license up to two years.
  7. Fines and fees can reach up to $17,000 and you could end up in jail, which could cost you your job, your paycheck, and your driver's license.

This Labor Day weekend, if you drink, don't drive. And if you're gonna drive, don't drink. Better yet, save all the hassle, grab a Sharpie, and write an Uber driver's phone number on your arm. When you need to head home, call your Uber bestie.

LOOK: The Texas Department of Public Safety and All Law Enforcement Are Looking For These Violations

To avoid getting pulled over make sure you're not violating any of these laws

LOOK: What major laws were passed the year you were born?

Data for this list was acquired from trusted online sources and news outlets. Read on to discover what major law was passed the year you were born and learn its name, the vote count (where relevant), and its impact and significance.

More From KEAN 105