Rodney Crowell's musical ode to his home state, Texas, arrives on Aug. 15 and features artists representing the genres and decades touched by the singer, songwriter and producer's legendary career. Readers can see a track listing below.

"For the last few years, I'd been writing Texas-centric songs and revisiting some of my tunes from as far back as the mid-'70s," Crowell explains in a press release. "Last year, I started referring to the collection of songs as the Texas album."

Originally, Crowell set out to record collaborations for the project with fellow Texans, including ZZ Top's Billy Gibbons, as well as Steve Earle. Although they and most of the other guest stars hail from the Lone Star State, the album's main catalyst was born far from the heart of Texas.

“Interestingly, it all started with Ringo Starr who, through a mutual friend, let me know he was keen to record a track,” Crowell says in a press release. “Before I knew it, Lee Ann Womack, Ronnie Dunn, Willie Nelson, Randy Rogers, Lyle Lovett and Vince Gill had climbed on board. Ray Kennedy and I took hold of the production reins, enlisted a cast of bad a-- musicians and voilá, Texas was born. Man, was it a fun record to make.”

Crowell's home-state love letter will arrive just five days after his induction into the Texas Country Hall of Fame.
Rodney Crowell, Texas Track Listing:

  1. “Flatland Hillbillies” (featuring Lee Ann Womack & Randy Rogers)
  2. “Caw Caw Blues”  (featuring Vince Gill)
  3. “56 Fury” (featuring Billy F Gibbons)
  4. “Deep In the Heart of Uncertain Texas” (featuring Ronnie Dunn, Willie Nelson & Lee Ann Womack)
  5. “You’re Only Happy When You’re Miserable” (featuring Ringo Starr)
  6. “I’ll Show Me”
  7. “What You Gonna Do Now” (featuring Lyle Lovett)
  8. “The Border”
  9. “Treetop Slim & Billy Lowgrass”
  10. “Brown & Root, Brown & Root” (featuring Steve Earle)
  11. “Texas Drought Part 1”

More From KEAN 105